Sachin Tendulkar, Lionel Messi win big at the Laureus World Sports Awards. Here is the complete list of winners this year

0 1351

The Laureus Sporting Moment Award (2000-2020) called voting from public and Indian Cricketer icon Sachin Tendulkar wins the spot. 

The Laureus World Sports Awards 2020 happened in Berlin, Germany yesterday. World-renowned footballer Lionel Messi and  Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton shared the World Sportsman of the year award. World Sportswoman of the year award was given to gymnast Simone Biles for the second year in a row. The World team of the year was bagged by Africa's men's rugby team. The team defeated England in the Rugby world cup final 2019. 

Lionel Messi who is the captain of Barcelona football club becomes the first footballer to win the World Sportsman of the year. Sachin Tendulkar after playing his last world cup was lifted by the rest of the team under Dhoni's captaincy and bagged the World cup title. This moment was nominated for the Laureus best sporting moment category and Sachin received the maximum number of votes winning the title. After receiving the award Sachin said, "It's incredible. The feeling of winning the world cup was beyond what words can express. How many times you get an event happening where there are no mixed opinions. Very rarely the entire country celebrates."

Image result for sachin laures award

Laureus World Sports Awards 2020: List of winners:
1) Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Lewis Hamilton and Lionel Messi
2) Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Simone Biles
3) Laureus World Team of the Year: South African national men's rugby team
4) Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Egan Bernal
5) Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Sophia Florsch
6) Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Oksana Masters
7) Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Chloe Kim
8) Laureus Best Sporting Moment: "On the shoulders of a nation" - Sachin Tendulkar
9) Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award: Dirk Nowitzki
10) Laureus Academy Exceptional Achievement Award: Spanish Basketball Federation
11) Laureus Sport for Good Award: South Bronx United

Click to comment